television / Television drama / Uncategorized

Mayim Bialik Reflects on the Shocking Big Bang Theory Episode

big band theory

“Shamy” may be broken up but they are slated to make love in an episode air Dec. 17. (Photo: CBS.com)

If you are devastated that Sheldon decided — SPOILER ALERT —  not to get together with Amy in Thursday night’s episode, you are not alone. Mayim Bialik, the actress behind’s Amy, revealed in a blog posted afterwards that she too is heartbroken by the news.

She wrote “I don’t know that it is ever easy to sum up what it is like to perform a scene like this as an actor. What I can tell you is that the reason that Amy looks so sad when Sheldon breaks her heart is that I felt sad.”

She continued “I have written here before about not being a trained actor, and I don’t know if the way that I perform falls under the official category of method acting. What I can tell you is that I think I am actually a very bad actor because a truly good actor would be able to act heartbroken when they weren’t. I acted heartbroken because I felt it very deeply.”

Bialik said her emotions were furthered by the fact that “when I filmed the episode that you just watched, I had no idea what was going to happen in the next episode.”

Although Amy and Sheldon are no longer a couple, the two will continue to be in scenes together. According to CBS.com,  Amy and Sheldon are going to have sex in an episode slated for Dec. 17.

Executive Producer Steve Molaro said in a statement, “After over five years of dating, we felt the time was right for Sheldon and Amy to finally consummate their relationship. we’re so excited for the audience to see the journey over the next several episodes.”

Bialik also says there will be a surprise in next week’s episode. “It goes without saying that you should all stay tuned for next week’s episode. You will not be disappointed; I wasn’t!”

Leave a Reply

